The National Scientific Program “Low Carbon Energy for Transport and Households” (E +) was presented on 8 February in “Prof. Marin Drinov” Hall of BAS. The program is financed by the Ministry of Education and Science and will be implemented for three years, announced its Head, corr.-mem. Konstantin Hadjivanov. He added that the research potential of seven universities and eight institutes of BAS has been included, providing conditions for the integrated implementation of scientific research, and applied and demonstration activities for the development and introduction of new technologies related to renewable energy and decarbonisation of economy. The municipalities of Ruse, Varna, Bourgas, Blagoevgrad and Sofia are invited as associate partners of the scientific organizations.

The National Program comprises three main components: Renewable Energy Storage and Transformation (Coordinator: Prof. Evelina Slavcheva), Electric Vehicles and Hydrogen Mobility (Coordinator Prof. Daria Vladikova) and Effective Methods for Carbon Dioxide Capture and Utilization (Coordinator Assoc. Prof. Dimitar Panayotov). It is envisaged that the scientific developments of innovative methods in the use and storage of clean energy will be used in demonstration projects such as the construction of autonomous power supply of a single-family residential building and a trolleybus with a hybrid “battery-fuel cell” extension. After the scientific work on the program has ended the scientific developments will find practical application, with the support of the associated partners. A distinctive element of the national program is the preparation of analytical reports which will be sent to the respective ministries.

During the presentation, Prof. Elisaveta Peneva from Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski” gave a lecture on “Global warming and climate change – mitigation measures”. The event was attended by the Deputy Minister of Transport, Information Technologies and Communications Angel Popov, Prof. Ivan Dimov and Prof. Kostadin Kostadinov from the Ministry of Education and Science, Rectors, representatives of the Management Board and the institutes of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences.