Two research teams from the Institute of Electronics of BAS were awarded the “Acad. Emil Djakov” award for 2023.  The prize is awarded by the Scientific Council of the Institute every year for the best publication in reputable scientific journals. The awards were presented at a ceremony at the Institute of Electronics by the Director, Assoc. Prof. Tatyana Koutzarova.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Miglena Dimitrova, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tsviatko Popov and Sen. Asst. Prof. Dr. Pavlina Vladimirova, in collaboration with scientists from Slovenia, Spain and the Czech Republic, carried out research on the application of the Triple-probe technique in a magnetic field contributing to a more accurate determination of the electron temperature in plasma in a magnetic field. The Bulgarian team has major contributions to the concept and processing of the experimental data, model calculations and the introduction of a correction factor to improve the determination of the electron temperature.

The “Academician Emil Djakov” prize is also awarded for a cycle of six thematically united publications on “Electron Beam Processing of Metals and Alloys”. The scientific team, which includes Assoc. Prof. Dr. Stefan Valkov and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Maria Ormanova, made a breakthrough in the application of electron beam technologies both for improving the performance properties of innovative materials and for forming welding joints between dissimilar metals and alloys. The results obtained demonstrate an increase in the microhardness of pure titanium up to 20 times as well as a reduction in the coefficient of friction of titanium alloy after electron beam processing. The team has shown that precise control of technological conditions during the electron beam welding process leads to the formation of high-strength weld joints. These scientific results can be successfully implemented in various industrial sectors, such as automotive, aircraft, metalworking, biomedical and others. The experiments were carried out in collaboration with the Technical University of Gabrovo.


Assoc. Prof. Tatyana Koutzarova and Sen. Asst. Prof. Dr. Pavlina Vladimirova

Assoc. Prof. Maria Ormanova, Assoc. Prof. Tatyana Koutzarova, Assoc. Prof. Stefan Valkov