Prof. Hassan Chamati

The President of BAS Prof. Julian Revalski, Full Member of the Academy, handed the Director of the Institute of Solid State Physics, Prof. Hassan Chamati, Honorary Plaque – gold of the President of BAS. The distinction is awarded for outstanding contributions to the development of modern fundamental and applied research in the fields of solid state physics, laser physics, materials science and on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of ISSP. The award was presented at a ceremony on 17 October at the “Prof. Marin Drinov” Hall of BAS.

Not only fundamental and applied but also interdisciplinary research is conducted at ISSP and national and international projects are successfully implemented, said Prof. Julian Revalski.

One of the founders of the Institute of Solid State Physics, founder of the Laboratory of Metal Vapor Lasers and President of BAS (2008-2012), Acad. Nikola Sabotinov, also delivered a speech. He recalled the scientists and the teams led by them, whose research contributed to the successful development of important industries for the economy of Bulgaria in the 1970s, such as microelectronics, acoustoelectronics, solar energy, laser technologies, etc.

Prof. Hassan Chamati presented the “Acad. Georgi Nadjakov” Award to the winner of the Competition for Scientific Excellence at ISSP (2020-2021) Assoc. Prof. Karekin Esmeryan.

During the celebration, the film “50 Years of ISSP” was screened, which tells about the achievements of the founders, which are still the subject of well-deserved international recognition, as well as about the Institute today – with ambitions to be a driving force in the creation of a high-performance economy and to take its rightful place in the European and global research area.